Reckless Driving Laws

Michigan Reckless Driving Laws

Below you will find the statute for reckless driving. The term “willful and wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” is certainly difficult to qualify with accuracy and gives the authorities a great deal of latitute to charge this crime. Due to the language of the statute, anyone charged with reckless driving may be able to successfully argue at trial that they were not acting in willful and wanton disregard. This is to say that the defendant can testify as to their intent at the time of the alleged crime. 

Your License Will Be Suspended

What the Michigan statute does NOT mention is that for any conviction of reckless driving, your license will be suspended, with NO restrictions, for 90 days. You will also have six points on your Michigan driver’s license. 

   

MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 300 of 1949 

***** 257.626 THIS SECTION IS AMENDED EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 31, 2010: See 257.626.amended ***** 

257.626 Reckless driving on highway, frozen public lake, or parking place; violation as misdemeanor; penalty. 

Sec. 626. 

(1) A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other place open to the general public, including, but not limited to, an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. 

(2) A person who violates subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. 


History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;– Am. 1953, Act 3, Eff. Oct. 2, 1953 ;– Am. 1957, Act 178, Eff. Sept. 27, 1957 ;– Am. 1965, Act 262, Eff. Mar. 31, 1966 ;– Am. 2004, Act 331, Eff. Nov. 1, 2004 
© 2009 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

 

Rendered 6/28/2010 10:28:34 Michigan Compiled Laws Complete Through PA 101 of 2010
© 2010 Legislative Council, State of Michigan Courtesy of www.legislature.mi.gov

The Michigan Reckless Driving Statute Will Be Amended Beginning October 31, 2010 (See Below)

MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 300 of 1949 

***** 257.626.amended THIS AMENDED SECTION IS EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 31, 2010 ***** 

257.626.amended Reckless driving on highway, frozen public lake, or parking place; violation as misdemeanor; penalty; operation of motor vehicle causing impairment of body function to another person or death of another person; penalty. 

Sec. 626. 

(1) A person who operates a vehicle upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other place open to the general public, including, but not limited to, an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. 

(2) Except as provided in subsections (3) and (4), a person who operates a vehicle in violation of subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. 

(3) A person who operates a vehicle in violation of subsection (1) and by the operation of that vehicle causes serious impairment of a body function to another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence. 

(4) A person who operates a vehicle in violation of subsection (1) and by the operation of that vehicle causes the death of another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence. 

(5) In a prosecution under subsection (4), the jury shall not be instructed regarding the crime of moving violation causing death. 


History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;– Am. 1953, Act 3, Eff. Oct. 2, 1953 ;– Am. 1957, Act 178, Eff. Sept. 27, 1957 ;– Am. 1965, Act 262, Eff. Mar. 31, 1966 ;– Am. 2004, Act 331, Eff. Nov. 1, 2004 ;– Am. 2008, Act 463, Eff. Oct. 31, 2010 
© 2009 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

 

Rendered 6/28/2010 10:30:05 Michigan Compiled Laws Complete Through PA 101 of 2010
© 2010 Legislative Council, State of Michigan Courtesy of www.legislature.mi.gov