Michigan DUI – Second Offense
Any alcohol violation that occurs within 7 years of a prior conviction will be treated as a second offense in Michigan. The penalties for a drunk driving second offfense are as follows:
If the violation occurs within 7 years of a prior conviction, the person shall be sentenced:
- to pay a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $1,000.00 and 1 or more of the following:
- Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year. Not less than 48 hours of the term of imprisonment imposed under this subparagraph shall be served consecutively.
- Community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.